Jaga Jazzist - What We Must

at viernes, noviembre 20, 2009

2005. Norway

Jaga Jazzist is a norwegian multi-faceted and innovative jazz band, known to put together instruments and sounds from many different genres together into a modern jazz dressing with many other different flavours.

The band is also known for having a very flexible setup in which over more than 20 musicians have participated, incorporating and giving each effort a different feel.

The latest album What We Must is a turn in the bands direction towards a more band-like setup, including a more present real drumset rather than electronic percussion, incisive in the previous works. This makes the band be able to melt in the pot both Nu-Jazz and Post-Rock to a very unexpected degree of perfection that will surprise any exceptic. To sum up they incorporate in some songs the use of voice (never done before), which in line with the bands seal is used as an instrument rather than other thing, and it melts in the Jaga Jazzist enchilada as such.


  • All I Know Is Tonight: Put Sigur Ros with a jazz quintet and see what happens...
  • Swedenborgske Rom: Consisting of many parts, including a mind-blowing choir section and a fantastic build-up to the end.

  1. "All I Know Is Tonight" – 7:51
  2. "Stardust Hotel" – 6:15
  3. "For All You Happy People" – 3:58
  4. "Oslo Skyline" – 5:32
  5. "Swedenborgske Rom" – 8:47
  6. "Mikado" – 6:05
  7. "I Have A Ghost, Now What?" – 7:35


Publicar un comentario

Related Posts with Thumbnails

MINE HOST | Powered by Blogger | Entries (RSS) | Comments (RSS) | Designed by MB Web Design | XML Coded By Cahayabiru.com